Conclave Journal

Conclave is a print and eBook
of writing and photography.


("Conclave" means a gathering, a chamber or salon, a private room.)


Conclave wants poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction of exceptional literary merit. The work we seek has an impact on the reader. It is not merely about the mystery of being, but heightens the reader’s sense of the majesty underlying the fabric of our daily lives. We're looking for work about character or work that displays character, that holds it up to a fresh light and helps readers see what they did not see before. We're looking for writing that matters, writing that makes a difference.

We seek to be broad, inclusive, and open to perspectives spanning all spectrums of thought, ethnicity, gender identity, and sexual orientation.

We are interested in work originally written in English and work in English translation from any language. We are interested in all genres, including mixed or multiple genre works, or work that simply defies classification.

Click on the Submission Guide link to the left to learn how to submit to the upcoming issue of Conclave, to submit a book for consideration by the Balkan Press, or to enter the Carl Sennhenn Poetry Prize or the Rilla Askew Short Fiction Prize. Conclave will be published twice a year.

SUBSCRIBE! Use the box below to subscribe to Conclave (eBook or print edition) using PayPal or a credit card. If you prefer to pay by check, make the check payable to CONCLAVE JOURNAL and mail it with your address to: Conclave, 12600 W Glen Ct, Choctaw OK 73020.

Conclave Subscription
Your Full Name
Email Address
Street Address
City, State Zip



Conclave authors who have won awards for their writing:

Carl Sennhenn is a former Oklahoma Poet Laureate and retired English professor, as well as the author of the Oklahoma Center For the Book award-winning Travels Through Enchanted Woods  and Nocturnes, and Sometimes Even I.  He is the host of monthly poetry readings at The Depot in Norman and teaches Continuing Education classes in creative writing.

Rilla Askew received a 2009 Arts and Letters Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Her essays and short fiction have appeared in a variety of journals, and her story "The Killing Blanket" was selected for Prize Stories 1993: The O. Henry Awards. Askew's first novel, THE MERCY SEAT, was nominated for the PEN/Faulkner Award, the Dublin IMPAC Prize, was a Boston Globe Notable Book, and received the Oklahoma Book Award and the Western Heritage Award in 1998. FIRE IN BEULAH, her acclaimed novel about the Tulsa Race Riot, received the American Book Award and the Myers Book Award from the Gustavus Myers Center for the Study of Bigotry and Human Rights. She was a 2004 fellow at Civiella Ranieri in Umbertide, Italy, and in 2008 her novel HARPSONG received the Oklahoma Book Award, the Western Heritage Award, the WILLA Award from Women Writing the West, and the Violet Crown Award from the Writers League of Texas. Askew received the 2011 Arrell Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award from the Oklahoma Center for the Book. 

Peter S. Beagle has won, among many others, the Inkpot, Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and Lifetime Achievement in Fantasy awards.

Jacob Oet's chapbook, With Porcupine, Won Arcadia Magazine's 2015 Ruby Irene Poetry Chapbook Contest. Jacob published his poem, "Bear" in Conclave when he was eighteen.

Jane Yolen won: the Special World Fantasy Award (for Favorite Folktales From Around the World), The Catholic Library Association's Regina Medal for her body of children's literature, the Nebula Award for Novelette for "Lost Girls", the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement at the 2010 World Fantasy Convention, and was nominated for World Fantasy Award for Anthology/Collection and World Fantasy Award for Best Novella and World Fantasy Award for Best Novel.

Jessica Amanda Salmonson has won the World Fantasy Award for best collection and the Lambda Literary Award for Lesbian Science Fiction/Fantasy. C.J. Cherryh has won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, several Hugo Awards, the Locus Award, the Oklahoma Book Award, and others.

Geffrey Davis has won the A. Poulin Jr. Poetry Prize

Martin Willitts Jr. won the William K. Hathaway award.

Elizabeth Ann Scarborough won the Nebula Award.

ADVERTISERS: For information about advertising in Conclave, email